Cracked Glass – Embossing Technique

I made these cards while refreshing my skills on this technique. It’s called Cracked Glass. It’s easiest to do it with UTEE (Ultra Thick Embossing Enamel) but it CAN be done with regular embossing powder. It took me about 3 layers with the UTEE and like 6-7 with the regular and it was still not as thick. It cracked, but not as easily.

Cracked Glass with UTEE

One tip for trying this technique with regular embossing powder is to keep it to a small area. My first attempt was with a larger piece and it was exhausting 🙂

Cracked Glass with regular clear embossing powder

The basic technique is after you stamp your panel, you cover the entire area with clear UTEE and lay down several layers. After your final layer is cool (you can rush it a little in the freezer) you bend it to crack the enamel. After this is cracked you can sponge on some ink, I like Early Espresso, which will seep down into those cracks a give some definition.

Hope you enjoy trying this technique!

Here are some more examples that I pinned on Pinterest. A couple are my creations and others I found. https://www.pinterest.com/leighannericks/cracked-glass-technique/

Leave a comment