Watercolor backgrounds

HI! Thanks for joining me today. I am sharing with you some cards that I have made using some of my watercolor backgrounds I have made. You can make these with any water-based dye ink, Pigment Sprinkles or Brusho watercolor crystals. I use all methods. Sometimes I just use them as a background for my cards and sometimes I use them to cut shapes.

This first card I used the dies from the Celebrate Sunflowers Bundle. I chose a purple and orange one for the sunflower and a greens one for the leaves. I think the sunflower is very striking with the bright colors accented with black and the soft Purple Posy background. I stamped the sentiment with Gorgeous Grape ink and then ran the Purple Posy layer through my die cut machine using the new Old World Paper 3D embossing folder. I can see this is going to be a new favorite!

Colors used: Purple Posy, Basic Black, Gorgeous Grape & watercolor backgrounds.

The next card I punched the apple and the leaf from some watercolor background that was red & green. I stamped the apple and the leaf from the Harvest Hellos stamp set, then punched them out with the Apple Builder punch. Makes a pretty interesting look.

Colors used: Granny Apple Green, Real Red, Pineapple Punch, Blueberry Bushel and watercolor backgrounds

This card I’ve used the watercolor background like I would any other dsp. I stamped the image from A Good Man stamp set and colored it with Stampin’ Blends markers.

Colors used: Mango Melody, Granny Apple Green, Whisper White & watercolor background

Here I’ve punched the butterflies out of the watercolor background. I sponged Melon Mambo ink over the balmy blue gingham dsp. Sentiment is from Well Said stamp set

Colors used: Melon Mambo, Pretty Peacock, Balmy Blue dsp, watercolor background

Finally, for this card I used the watercolor background in place of the normal white cardstock I would stamp my focal image on. I do use the Stamparatus when stamping on watercolor paper, as it’s not smooth and doesn’t take stamping like Whisper White does, that way I can stamp it multiple times in the same place to get a clear image. These images are from the Beautiful Moments cling stamp set.

Colors used: Granny Apple Green, Blueberry Bushel, Gorgeous Grape, Rose glimmer paper and watercolor background

Thanks for joining me and hope you do something fun today!

Leave a comment